• guest reviews - Ambassador’s House
Ambassador's House – Galle 5 bedroom luxury villa Ambassador's House – Galle 5 bedroom luxury villa

Few villas in fascinating Galle Fort can match the generous proportions of this historic and luxurious abode. Formerly the residence of the Sri Lankan Ambassador to Pakistan, Iraq and Bangladesh, Ambassador’s House has lavishly hosted many important guests in its illustrious past and its epic proportions still make it a fabulous place for entertaining.

These days the villa enshrines relaxation. Pluck a book or magazine from a cabinet or table top and sink into the deep sofas of the living room. Enjoy a wonderful seafood lunch in the palm-shaded courtyard cooked by your in-house chef, and after a well-deserved nap take a dip in the inviting pool. As the end of the day beckons and the temperature cools, take a leisurely stroll amongst the fort’s ancient cobbled streets, culminating at the grass-tufted ramparts to watch the sun sink into the sea.

By evening, the villa’s soft lighting creates the perfect ambiance for poolside cocktails. At dinnertime, our chef will dazzle you with yet another delicious spread selected from a menu of Western and Sri Lankan dishes: whether a formal feast or a relaxed family get together, every meal at Ambassador’s House is guaranteed to be special. Our friendly staff will happily do their utmost to help youngsters make the most of their stay, and our sociable TV snug, furnished with a big comfortable sofa, is a firm favourite with kids and adults alike.

Our staff will provide plenty of inspiration for those who wish to explore, and we encourage you to seek their advice. Beyond the quaint narrow streets, fashionable boutiques and charming cafes of the UNESCO-World-Heritage-listed fort, the wider region of Galle boasts many excellent restaurants, eclectic shops and fascinating places to visit. What’s more, within a ten-minute drive you can be relaxing on one of Sri Lanka’s idyllic beaches, beside a warm, turquoise sea.

Ambassador’s House
8 out of 10 based on 1 user reviews.
US$ 625++ US$ 825++ out of 1

Guest reviews

May 10th, 2017 - May 14th, 2017

“Thank you Loku, Rob, Jai, Lai, Wira and Jay for making my 40th so perfect. I really look forward to visiting again soon! Keep well and keep up the good work!”

Chad D, United Arab Emirates

April 15th, 2017 - April 22nd, 2017

“Amazing time had by our party of 8. Cannot thank the staff enough for an incredible friendly professional service. Food was outstanding and we cannot wait to come back and do it all again. The staff are off the chart fantastic. Sri Lanka and all its beautiful people we thank you all.”

John M, United Kingdom

April 8th, 2017 - April 15th, 2017

“Tamil New Year 13-14 April - Greeted by a beautiful traditional breakfast - on par with all the care and cuisine that we have enjoyed here. All thanks to Jaya for the imaginative variations of Sri Lankan curry and Lal for impeccable service plus his team. Our stay in Ambassadors House has been about as perfect as we would wish. A week of relaxation, of splendor of the rooms, terrace and pool. We loved it. This was a great holiday. I really enjoyed staying in this house. It was a very beautiful house. The staff here looked after us very well, and the food was delicious. The bedrooms were always well maintained and tidied every day. The pool was great and was very refreshing at the end of the day. Thanks for making this stay so great. This was the first time in Galle and the house was a real treat. I am sure we will be back. Thanks you for creating such a beautiful home which has proved an utterly perfect base for our holiday.”

James S, United Kingdom

March 31st, 2017 - April 2nd, 2017

“Beautiful place, very hospital staff, delicious food. What a wonderful weekend. Extremely well maintained place with so much to do and the architecture makes it all the more beautiful. The staff have taken good care of all of us and helped us at every step. Thanks you for a wonderful time. Looking forward to next time.”

Dharam R, United Arab Emirates

March 25th, 2017 - March 27th, 2017

“The most enjoyable two days we spent on our entire trip to Sri Lanka. The house is just outstanding, and the attentive staff make the stay even more memorable. The attention to detail is just fantastic. Look forward to coming back again for a longer duration and enjoying all that Ambassadors House has to offer. Thank you guys.”

Shiv S, Singapore

March 10th, 2017 - March 16th, 2017

“Wonderful stay in the beautiful colonial Ambassadors House. The staff made lots of effort for a birthday celebration to make it a very special day. Very attentive and willing to accommodate all of our needs to give us a wonderful holiday. Excellent team and would certainly recommend to friends.”

Simon B, United Kingdom

January 26th, 2017 - February 4th, 2017

“We stayed at Ambassadors House for 9 days to celebrate my mothers 70th birthday. It was a family reunion too with one half flying in from HK and the other from Dubai. 6 Adults and 4 children and we all had ample space to retreat. Wehad a wonderful time. The house, Galle Fort, and the beaches shall remain in our fond memories. It was such a relaxing time - made so by the wonderful staff here. Lal always had a smile and was always one step ahead anticipating your needs. Jaya made us superb food his repertoire of dishes and cakes never ceased to amaze. He outdid himself with the super delicious birthday cake he made for my mothers birthday. Thank you to all the staff and Sri Lanka for a beautiful holiday. See you again soon.”

Mayli H, Hong Kong

January 2nd, 2017 - January 5th, 2017

“The Ambassadors House truly lived up to its name. 13 of us spent 3 nights in the first week of the year to bring together a scattered family. Besides the fantastic layout, the warmth of the staff was unparalleled. The food was scrumptious and Loku was a blessing. The patience and ability to organize are commendable. Will certainly be back in Galle and at Ambassadors House.”

Mr & Mrs. Sanjaya & Shruti A, Sri Lanka

December 18th, 2016 - January 2nd, 2017

“Seven of us stayed over Christmas and New Year 2016. All was perfect but especially the wonderful staff led by Jaya and Loku. Everyone always smiling and really delicious food. We are sad to be leaving after two weeks. We stay on in the Fort, but I don't think anywhere will be as nice and friendly.”

Eliza C, Sri Lanka

December 1st, 2016 - December 8th, 2016

“We had a wonderful stay at the villa. The staff were very attentive, pleasant and able to provide a high level of service. The villa was extremely well maintained and all the staff were very attentive. We would highly recommend the villa to all of our friends.”

Anthony L, United Kingdom

November 12th, 2016 - November 16th, 2016

“Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful villa. The ambience and decoration of the villa is absolutely superb. The attentive staff made sure we were well taken care off at all times. We will recommend Ambassadors House to others. Thank you.”

Fiona A, Australia

October 31st, 2016 - November 2nd, 2016

“We had the absolute pleasure of staying here for two nights and had the most outstanding time. The location is just fantastic and to be able to walk out and explore the Fort was one of our favourite things. Then return back to the beautiful villa and the cool swimming pool and super comfy couches made the most amazing place to relax. The staff have been excellent and we can't thank them enough. Looking to returning soon and staying for much longer. A big thanks. xoxoxo.”

Narelle W, Australia

October 20th, 2016 - October 22nd, 2016

“Thanks for your kindness. The food was delicious. The bedroom was wonderful. I hope to come back soon. We had a great time. This is an amazing, beautiful place. Thank you very much for your warm welcome.”

Alice G, France

October 7th, 2016 - October 10th, 2016

“What an unforgettable experience. The Ambassadors House and its team have been hands down fantastic! The food that the team prepare here has been top notch, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner, they have constantly knocked it out of the park. Thanks to Lao & the team at Ambassadors House again.”

Hugo R, Singapore

August 14th, 2016 - August 17th, 2016

“On our second visit to Sri Lanka, and especially here at Ambassadors House confirms our desire to be in Sri Lanka and makes us very happy. Well enough to make future plans to come back definitely. ”

Riyaz M, Philippines

August 5th, 2016 - August 10th, 2016

“We eight members form a loving group of friends from New Zealand and Australia. We have enjoyed the fellowship and the support of Rob and the members of the staff in making our stay a memorable one.”

Tony B, New Zealand

July 17th, 2016 - July 20th, 2016

“A review of the Ambassadors House in Galle Fort: (60 Lighthouse Street): 1. Excellent. 2. Super. 3. Fantastic. A most wonderful stay with the family of nine. Staff are excellent who took very good care of us and ensured that everything was tip top. The Chef is super!! Food prepared at every meal was fantastic - A small tip: Stay for your meals at the villa - much better than any restaurant at the fort. Our thanks and congratulations for a great time. The Ambassadors House in Galle Fort offered us a remarkable memory that forever shall be inspired in our hearts, for the years to come. The food was absolute phenomenal whilst the chef was able to capture both Western and Sri Lanka cuisine to a wonderful commendable level. Brilliant. The exquisite decor was also a treat to the eyes, along with the beautiful poolside that encapsulated the perfect blend of chic & relaxation. A fantastic location to roam around. The Fort is an experience in itself.”

Geraldine B, Malaysia

June 24th, 2016 - June 29th, 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay in the beautiful house. We will definitely be back.”

Haley A, Australia

May 30th, 2016 - June 4th, 2016

“Thank you for your amazing hospitality we loved our time here in the house. The staff have been fantastic, the food amazing and the people of Galle a joy. We would certainly stop here in the future.”

Thomas G, United Kingdom

May 9th, 2016 - May 12th, 2016

“A perfect place to wind up our 60th birthday celebrations. Such a peaceful and relaxing few days here at Galle Fort - we certainly hope to be back in the future. Very friendly staff and a super cook. Thank you all. Beautiful house and gorgeous town.”

Liz J, China

May 6th, 2016 - May 9th, 2016

“Thank you for a delightful holiday. This has been a prefect family retreat, and we would love to return for a week or so. The staff have been fantastic and food excellent.”

Lesley A, Australia

March 30th, 2016 - April 2nd, 2016

“Thank you for an excellent time here at Ambassadors House. Thank you so much for a great hospitality. The food was excellent and we had no choice but to eat here every night. The staff here do a great job. Thanks again.”

Sindre S, Sri Lanka

March 25th, 2016 - March 29th, 2016

“Thank you so much for making our stay so amazingly memorable. We have had an amazing Easter break and can't wait to come again. The staff have been attentive and made our stay 10 times better. The food was amazing, and the staff were really helpful and nice. Thank you so much.”

Nichola B, United Arab Emirates

February 5th, 2016 - February 11th, 2016

“A party of 13 arrived 7 days ago not knowing what to expect apart from marketing materials. I told my wife I hope it is as good as the pictures and what had been promised. We have been very pleasantly surprised. The place is wonderful with great attention to detail. The staff brilliant and very attentive yet discreet. We got the tire of food we wanted and very very tasty. Loku had been brilliant in her help with the organization of tours, and accommodating last minute changes. Celebrated my 60th birthday in style with a dance troupe and surprise birthday cake with lobster and crabs cooked to perfection. Thank you all.”

Kuldip D, Australia

January 24th, 2016 - January 28th, 2016

“BRILLIANT STAY!!. Ambassadors House was the perfect venue for our group of 6. We celebrated my wife's birthday in great style... with an exciting dance troop, and a wonderful feast of lobster, all arranged by the fantastic staff. We couldn't have been happier with out choice of stay in the wonderful stylish Ambassadors House. What a fantastic location, a wonderful property and attentive yet discreet staff. We loved it all. Thanks to everyone. Highly recommended.”

Janet N, Australia

December 27th, 2015 - January 3rd, 2016

“My family and friends arrived here a week ago, and sadly today we're packing up to leave. I can only say that this has been the best holiday we have had in a long time. Totally relaxing and in the presence of the best hotel team I have experienced in a long while. Loku and her team made us very welcome and almost at home since we arrived. The team are extremely professional and very friendly and were a pleasure to be around. Can't wait for the next time.”

Jane V, United Arab Emirates

November 15th, 2015 - November 16th, 2015

“Great villa with a lot of charm and character in the perfect location in Galle. The villa quality and staff are great and its a perfect villa if you want to be near everything.”

Philip K,

November 7th, 2015 - November 10th, 2015

“We have had a excellent time in this place for the past 4 days. We felt it a great privilege to have stayed in a house which was built 300 years ago. The food was very tasty and the staff extremely courteous and efficient. The memory of our stay here would stay with us a long time. A fantastic house, fantastic staff and unbelievable experience. Thank you so much for a fabulous stay in your wonderful villa. It was really special. Your staff made all the difference - the food was superb and they were so helpful - many thanks.”

Jaya J, Hong Kong

October 14th, 2015 - October 16th, 2015

“We would like to extend our gratitude and appreciation for the tremendous welcome and hospitality afforded to our group. The support and the service came second to none; everything from the date of our arrival was in order, and no request went unanswered. The professionalism and kindness of your staff was amazing. Again thank you and we'll all see you again soon.”

Smah A, United Arab Emirates

October 7th, 2015 - October 9th, 2015

“We are in Sri Lanka for 11 days. This villa is in our vacation 2 days but it is very impressive for us. The whole team of the villa are very kindness and attentive for everything especially the housekeeper. The services, environment and hygiene are so high standard and perfect. Everything just wonderful. Thank you for your hard work.”

Yi Y, China

October 4th, 2015 - October 6th, 2015

“Very big thank you from all of us. We have had a great time and joyful stay in the house. The team were very polite and helpful. The experience was wonderful because you made it to be. We look forward to come back again in the next trip to Sri Lanka. Again thank you from the boys from Kuwait. We wish you the best.”

Feras A, Kuwait

September 18th, 2015 - September 21st, 2015

“We had a fantastic stay at the Ambassodor house, it was as it appeared in the photos, well located in the fort, beautifully kept with a super crew who took such good care of us and kept the property in such an immaculate condition. What a great place to stay!”

Nalini Dev-Kauffmann, United Arab Emirates

August 27th, 2015 - September 3rd, 2015

“We stayed here as two families with 3 children and the villa was perfect for us. The staff were so accommodating and helpful and the food was wonderful. we asked for Sri Lankan food and the chef gave us a variety of different dishes which were delicious. We all enjoyed the small pool for cooling off and greatly appreciated the mosquito coils and candles which were lit each evening. We were also grateful for the laundry service. My friend was 50 during our stay and Loku arranged for dancers and drummers to perform for us, the kitchen baked a birthday cake and the whole thing started with my friend being asked to light candles on a magnificent decorative hanging made from coconuts and flowers. It was the most wonderful evening and one we shall always remember.”

Stuart Halliday, United Kingdom

April 7th, 2015 - April 14th, 2015

“A spacious elegant villa, with comfortable space both inside and out. The staff were extremely competent and professional, nothing was too much trouble. The food prepared by the chef was excellent. The pool was refreshing after a day of sightseeing and the location within the fort could not have been better.”

William Spencer, Australia

April 2nd, 2015 - April 7th, 2015

“The villa provided an excellent base for 2 families to explore Galle .The villa is very spacious , the children loved the pool and we enjoyed relaxing on the terrace . The staff were all very attentive and offered great flexibility with the meals especially for the children who hadn't all developed a taste for curry . Loku the manager was very helpful and provided lots of local information to help plan activities . ”

Fiona P, United Kingdom

October 21st, 2014 - October 24th, 2014

“Perfect for stay in Galle fort. Staff helpful but unobtrusive. Meals good. Hard to find a negative!”

Sally M, Indonesia

August 18th, 2014 - August 26th, 2014

“We had a fabulous time at the Ambassadors House. It was perfect for our needs. A family of 10 adults, 5 couples, each with our own bedroom plus ensuite bathroom. The living areas were very good and if we had been 5 un related couples it would have worked very well also. The staff really made our stay wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and there wasn't one staff member that we thought could have done more. We would certainly return to The Ambassadors house and would happily recommend it to any others.”

Kim F, Hong Kong

March 11th, 2014 - March 15th, 2014

“We had a fabulous time at the Ambassadors House and weren't able to fault it in any way. The staff, both management and house staff, went to great lengths to ensure that our stay was truly memorable. The location was perfect, the house even better than the photos, the food divine - everything was perfect. I don't know when but we will definitely be back.”

Kay G, Australia

October 4th, 2013 - October 6th, 2013

“The Ambassador's House was fantastic! The villa was luxurious without being overwhelming and the excellent staff, attentive without being overbearing. Everything, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, was a joy. I stayed at the villa with 3 friends and every one of us would recommend The Ambassador's House wholeheartedly!”

Sue B, Australia

July 21st, 2013 - July 26th, 2013

“From the moment we arrived to the day we left, the staff made our stay here an unforgetable experience. I cannot thank them enough for the lengths they went to to make my 60th birthday so fabulous. Everything from the frangipani-decked varandah with traditional oil lamps burning to the Kandiyan dancers, seafood BBQ and delicious chocolate birthday cake made for an experience I will always cherish. We have all travelled widely and our 5 night stay at Ambassador's House rates right up there with the best experiences we have enjoyed world-wide. ”

Christine P, Australia

June 21st, 2013 - June 25th, 2013

“Stunning villa which is made even more remarkable by the staff who look after ones every need! The Sri Lankan food was fantastic. Having planned to go out and eat elsewhere at times this thought was abandoned at the first meal! The villa is in the middle of the Fort area with beautiful streets full of interesting shops around. I would not hesitate to return - a perfect place for a large family or group of friends to congregate”

james W, Australia

October 26th, 2012 - October 29th, 2012

“I can thoroughly recommend the Ambassador's to anyone looking for larger accommodation in Galle. It's a short hop from Unawatuna but nicely insulated, we actually ended up spending most of our time at the Villa we like it so much! The staff are lovely and very helpful and there's always Tuk Tuk's on standby should you want to get out the Fort. ”

PW, United Arab Emirates

September 28th, 2012 - October 2nd, 2012

“Lighthouse street is a very narrow, barely enough to accommodate two vehicles. Once you navigate through this and arrive at the gate you walk through a small front garden onto a beautiful patio and through to a huge lounge area that seems to be separated into two. lounging here is a delight as it is quite cool on a hot and humid day. You then walk through a lovely open courtyard with a stairway on the left and into the dining area which has seating for eight. The door to the kitchen is off to the right and there is a glass square through which we were often watched to see if something was needed. Then through to a small TV viewing area with a huge cushioned bench type seat, also looking out onto the plunge pool, which is great for those hot and humid days. Beside the pool there are three good size bed rooms with double beds and en suites. Then upstairs is the Master bed room with beautiful en suite and a small 'study' area beside. Next to this room is another room with twin beds and en suite. then, leading out of these two rooms is a beautiful open area where the ladies can sun bathe/bake to their hearts content in total privacy. there is also a small covered area where one can sit and read or enjoy a cup of tea. The whole house is open, allowing for a cool breeze to pass through during the day. All in all, beautiful for a family or group of friends. ”

Max Ludekens, Australia

September 14th, 2012 - September 16th, 2012

“What a wonderful villa, more spacious than appeared in the pictures, perfectly relaxing. I used to wonder why would you stay in the hot Fort when you can stay by the beach, but actually this is a great place to stay in, especially if you don't have a vehicle. Everything is within walking distance and the beach is only a few minutes three-wheeler ride away. The villa has boogie boards etc that you can bring with you to the beach, which is a really nice touch, but then you can come back to your comfortable room without having sand everywhere. The chef was excellent and the staff lovely. The whole villa is wonderfully airy and doesn't get hot like I expected it to and the pool makes a huge difference. Thoroughly recommended.”

AS, Sri Lanka

May 26th, 2012 - May 29th, 2012

“Fantastic villa, wonderful staff - can't recommend enough!”

ST, United Kingdom

April 4th, 2012 - April 8th, 2012

“Food was wonderful, location was simply the best and we had a great time in the Galle Fort Ambassador's House!”

Cindy Chng, Singapore

March 25th, 2012 - March 31st, 2012

“Ambassadors was perfect for us. Great villa for families or groups of friends. Excellent living space, 5 lovely bedrooms and superb staff.”

NC

February 25th, 2012 - February 27th, 2012

“Our family of 8 adults and 3 small children spent 10 wonderful days staying at the Ambassador Villa Galle earlier this year. We were greeted with ice cold drinks on arrival and the Manager, housekeeper and all the staff made us feel very welcome. The house a a beautiful 18th century dutch home that has been cleverly renovated with all modern facilities appointed while still maintaining an old world charm. The bedrooms, living and dining areas are spacious and very clean, with a lovely open air courtyard to sit in for reading or having a drink at any time of the day. The pool was a joy to swim in and most suitable for small children. A special mention must go to the chef who produced delicious meals to the very highest standard, and the supporting staff who were caring and went out of their way to please us and give us extraordinary service. I would recommend The Ambassador Villa to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday, with willing staff to look after them to the highest standard. ”

MF, United Kingdom

December 21st, 2011 - January 4th, 2012

“We had the most wonderful stay at the Ambassadors, the staff were friendly, helpful and on hand for everything that we needed. We ate so well during our stay with amazing curries, good western food and one of the best Christmas lunches with a delicious Turkey, loads of veggies and even bread sauce! We really felt like we were at home. Its a beautiful spacious house with lots of room for my kids to run around in. We were especially pleased that they were able to provide cots, highchairs and a pram for our stay which saved us bringing them over with us. We would highly recommend the Ambassadors House and the wonderful team there. ”

BE, Hong Kong

September 16th, 2011 - September 18th, 2011

“Spent a weekend here with the family. We absolutely LOVED every moment we spent in this villa. From the moment we stepped into the villa and the staff's warm welcomes to the time we left the villa with their warm goodbyes. Very spacious, very airy, large halls, verandah, dining rooms, and the small and cozy swimming pool. Place was very clean, rooms were well sized, very comfortable and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. (the master bedroom was HEAVENLY). Staff were very friendly and cooked us some very nice meals and were always around to serve us. Those iPod speakers were a welcome addition! We had an amazing weekend. I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to the Galle Fort in Sri Lanka! ”

Hassan Rafeek, Sri Lanka

July 7th, 2011 - July 8th, 2011

“This is a beautiful haven in the heart of the magical Galle Fort, thoughtfully decorated, smashing spacious rooms, intimate spaces and a stellar staff. Having visited Galle and the surrounding areas many times in the past, I've never stayed in the Fort and now with this oasis, I will be coming back for more. ”

BL

February 21st, 2011 - February 28th, 2011

“Realy feel at home in beautifull architecture whitch mxed all history of sri lanka portuges influence sri lankan influence and touch of english confort i recomend it”

Toledano Baruk, France

February 2nd, 2011 - February 4th, 2011

“Ambassador's is magnificent. The location is fantastic and the house is huge and beautifully furnished: it can easily sleep 2 or 3 families. I cannot recommend it highly enough.”

Hamilton Anna, Singapore

Ambassador's House – Galle 5 bedroom luxury villa Elite Havens

Few villas in fascinating Galle Fort can match the generous proportions of this historic and luxurious abode. Formerly the residence of the Sri Lankan Ambassador to Pakistan, Iraq and Bangladesh, Ambassador’s House has lavishly hosted many important guests in its illustrious past and its epic proportions still make it a fabulous place for entertaining.

These days the villa enshrines relaxation. Pluck a book or magazine from a cabinet or table top and sink into the deep sofas of the living room. Enjoy a wonderful seafood lunch in the palm-shaded courtyard cooked by your in-house chef, and after a well-deserved nap take a dip in the inviting pool. As the end of the day beckons and the temperature cools, take a leisurely stroll amongst the fort’s ancient cobbled streets, culminating at the grass-tufted ramparts to watch the sun sink into the sea.

By evening, the villa’s soft lighting creates the perfect ambiance for poolside cocktails. At dinnertime, our chef will dazzle you with yet another delicious spread selected from a menu of Western and Sri Lankan dishes: whether a formal feast or a relaxed family get together, every meal at Ambassador’s House is guaranteed to be special. Our friendly staff will happily do their utmost to help youngsters make the most of their stay, and our sociable TV snug, furnished with a big comfortable sofa, is a firm favourite with kids and adults alike.

Our staff will provide plenty of inspiration for those who wish to explore, and we encourage you to seek their advice. Beyond the quaint narrow streets, fashionable boutiques and charming cafes of the UNESCO-World-Heritage-listed fort, the wider region of Galle boasts many excellent restaurants, eclectic shops and fascinating places to visit. What’s more, within a ten-minute drive you can be relaxing on one of Sri Lanka’s idyllic beaches, beside a warm, turquoise sea.